Iyengar Yoga Certification

What is Certification?

The phrase “Iyengar Yoga” describes the method of practicing and teaching yoga that B.K.S Iyengar and his family developed. Teacher certification maintains, promotes, and protects this method's excellence for yoga practice and teaching.

Certified Iyengar Yoga Teachers (CIYT) are educated in the method of yoga set forth by B.K.S. Iyengar. They have passed a thorough standardized assessment and maintain ongoing education, practice, and commitment to the Iyengar method.

To be granted a certification credential, teachers must pass an assessment of standards in three categories: a demonstrated practice of asanas, a written exam, and demonstrated teaching skills.

The Iyengar Yoga National Association of the United States (IYNAUS) carries out all assessments for Iyengar Yoga teachers in the United States. B.K.S. Iyengar developed all of the essential requirements for certification and rules governing certification. These requirements and rules are periodically updated by the Ramamani Iyengar Yoga Institute (RIMYI) in Pune, India. IYNAUS is responsible for the administrative aspects of the Assessment Process in the United States. RIMYI in India provides certificates of assessment.

As of August 14, 2007, the name “IYENGAR” associated with “YOGA” was registered as a trademark and is protected in the United States to ensure that yoga associated with the Iyengar name reflects the work of B.K.S. Iyengar.

The trademark is maintained by IYNAUS to protect the teachings of Mr. Iyengar and the professional integrity of CIYTs. It represents years of study, practice and strict dedication to the Iyengar method.



Levels of Certification

There are five levels of teacher certification in Iyengar Yoga:

Level 1:  Formerly Introductory I, II
Level 2:  Formerly Intermediate Junior I, II
Level 3:  Formerly Intermediate Junior III, Intermediate Senior, I, II, III
Level 4:  Formerly Advanced Junior I, II, III and Advanced Senior I, II
Level 5:  Assessed by RIMYI in India

Each level has its own syllabi and responsibilities. Please refer to the RIMYI Certification and Assessment Guidelines for a detailed description of the levels and what it entails to assess at each level.

What it Means to be a CIYT