The 12 Steps

Step 1: We admitted we were powerless over our addiction–that our lives had become unmanageable.

Step 2: Came to believe that a Power greater than ourselves could restore us to sanity.

Step 3: Made a decision to turn our will and our lives over to the care of God as we understood God.

Step 4: Made a searching and fearless moral inventory of ourselves.

Step 5: Admitted to God, to ourselves, and to another human being the exact nature of our wrongs.

Step 6: Were entirely ready to have
God remove all these defects
of character.

Step 7: Humbly asked God to remove our shortcomings.

Step 8: Made a list of all persons we had harmed, and became willing to make amends to them all.

Step 9: Made direct amends to such people wherever possible, except when to do so would injure them or others.

Step 10: Continued to take personal inventory and when we were wrong promptly admitted it.

Step 11: Sought through prayer and meditation to improve our conscious contact with God
as we understood God, praying only for knowledge of God's will for us and the power to carry that out.

Step 12: Having had a spiritual awakening as the result of these steps, we tried to carry this message to other addicts, and to practice these principles in all our affairs.

This version of the twelve steps is an adaptation from the original 12 Steps of Alcoholics Anonymous developed in the 1930s. The twelve-step approach has grown since to be the most widely used approach in dealing with alcoholism, drug abuse, and other addictive or dysfunctional behaviors. See for more information.

… and some Sutras

1: Yoga Sutras that suggest surrender to a higher power:

I.23: Isvara pranidhanat va

Or, the citta [consciousness] may be restrained by profound meditation upon God and total surrender to Him.

II.45: Samadhisiddhih Isvarapranidhanat

Surrender to God brings perfection in samadhi [profound meditation].

2: The afflictions:

II.3: Avidya asmita raga dvesa abhinivesah klesah

The five afflictions which disturb the equilibrium of consciousness are: ignorance or lack of wisdom, ego, pride of the ego or the sense of 'I,' attachment to pleasure, aversion to pain, fear of death, and clinging to life.

3: The three-fold remedy:

II.1: Tapah svadhyaya Isvarapranidhanani kriyayogah

Burning zeal in practice, self-study and study of scriptures, and surrender to God are the acts of yoga.

4: On friendliness:

I.33: Maitri karuna mudita upeksanam sukha duhkha punya apunya visayanam bhavanatah cittaprasadanam

Through cultivation of friendliness, compassion, joy, and indifference to pleasure and pain, virtue and vice, respectively, the consciousness becomes favorably disposed, serene and benevolent.

5: In Patanjali's list of the five fluctuations of consciousness are two which account for denial, viparyaya and vikalpa. Both involve a distorted view of reality:

I.8: Viparyayah mithyajnanam atadrupa pratistham

Illusory or erroneous knowledge is based on non-fact or the non-real.

I.9: Sabdajnana anupati vastusunyah vikalpah

Verbal knowledge devoid of substance is fancy or imagination.